Eight Baltic nations sign offshore protection pact


April 11, 2024

Energy ministers from eight countries neighbouring the Baltic Sea have agreed to collaborate on measures to protect offshore wind infrastructure in the region.

Ministers from Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Sweden yesterday signed the Vilnius Declaration to protect infrastructure for wind farms in the Baltic Sea. This follows alleged acts of sabotage by Russia following its invasion of Ukraine; and would include action on physical and cyber attacks.

The ministers met with representatives from NATO, the European Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators, and European transmission companies.

Giles Dickson, chief executive at WindEurope, said: “Renewables are critical infrastructure. We must make them secure. The wind industry is already helping the military to protect energy infrastructure – and to support national security more broadly – by exchanging data, hosting relevant technology and supporting the operation of radar.”

Read more