US DOE storage innovations prize winners revealed

March 1, 2023

Cryostone, RCAM Technologies and Gravity Power LLC have been confirmed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)’s Office of Electricity (OE) as being among the ten winners of the inaugural American-Made Energy Storage Innovations Prize, which calls for solutions to grid-scale energy storage.

The prize is $300,000.

The Energy Storage Innovations Prize focuses on nascent and emerging technologies that “disrupt or advance current state-of-the-art energy storage research areas”.

Of the ten winning teams, OE announced five ‘Storage Innovations Champions’ to receive $50,000 each and five ‘Storage Innovations Finalists’ to receive $10,000 each.

The Storage Innovations Champions are:

  • Cryostone, Houston, TX
  • RCAM Technologies, Los Angeles, CA
  • Gravity Power LLC, Santa Barbara, CA
  • Electrified Thermal Solutions, Medford, MA
  • KineticCore Solutions, Loveland, CO

The Storage Innovations Finalists are:

  • Rondo Energy, Alameda, CA
  • Thermal Battery Corporation, Cambridge, MA
  • THEMES LLC, Houston, TX
  • NerG Solutions, Knoxville, TN
  • Cache Energy, Champaign, IL